Fellows' Presentation, Performances

The Threshing Floor and Other Works (2012–2015)

A Concert of Amplified Chamber Music
Photo by Tony RinaldoPhoto by Tony Rinaldo

Part of the 2014–2015 Fellows’ Presentation Series

Concert with Mauricio Pauly RI ’15


Karin Hellqvist, violin
Joshua Hyde, tenor saxophone
Heloisa Amaral, piano
Noam Bierstone, percussion

Alexis Guneratne, technical direction

Mauricio Pauly is a composer of chamber music, often incorporating performative amplification and live electronics. This year as a Radcliffe Institute fellow, Pauly is working mainly on two new ensemble works. One is an amplified mixed sextet for the Frankfurt-based Ensemble Interface. The other is a mixed work for voice, amplified ensemble, and performed live electronics.

"I specialize in writing music for chamber instrumental ensembles and soloists, often augmented with performative amplification and real-time electronic processing. I design my music working under the assumption that the listener can be primed to experience a sense of poetic structure; that a temporal mold can be offered where listeners can pour their own semantic biases and create a sense of personal, heuristic navigation."—Mauricio Pauly, Composer 

This concert, which is free and open to the public, is an excellent opportunity to hear an innovative composer’s newest work.

Concert Program

(in no particular order)

Its fleece electrostatic (2012)
for amplified violin and guitar pedals

Its fleece electrostatic (2012, this version 2015)
for amplified percussion and guitar pedals
adapted by Noam Bierstone

Vs el monopolio de la memoria (2013)
for tenor saxophone, violin, and piano
*US premiere

Patrulla Reliquia (2015)
for amplified piano, live electronics, and recordings of dry leaves dragged and crushed over ceramic slabs

The threshing floor (2014)
for amplified duo (tenor saxophone and percussion), live electronics, and tape
*World premiere