Announcing Janet Yellen As Radcliffe Medalist

Radcliffe Day Program Also Features Ben Bernanke, Gregory Mankiw, and Cecilia Rouse
Janet L. Yellen. Photo courtesy of the Federal ReserveJanet L. Yellen. Photo courtesy of the Federal Reserve
January 27, 2016

Today, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study announced that on Radcliffe Day, May 27,
 2016, Janet L. Yellen, chair of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, will receive the Radcliffe Medal.

On Radcliffe Day—a remarkable day of celebration and exploration—the Radcliffe Medal is given to an honoree whose life and work have made a significant impact on our society.

“As chair of the Federal Reserve, Janet Yellen steers our economy with steadfast commitment to robust growth broadly shared," said Radcliffe Institute Dean Lizabeth Cohen, also the Howard Mumford Jones Professor of American Studies, Department of History, Harvard University. “She uses her intellect and her ideals to strengthen our nation.”

The Radcliffe Day lunch will feature personal reflections from Ben S. Bernanke ’75, a distinguished fellow in residence in the economic studies program at the Brookings Institution and the former chair of the Federal Reserve, after which Gregory Mankiw, the Robert M. Beren Professor of Economics at Harvard University, will engage Yellen in conversation about her groundbreaking achievements.

Radcliffe Day begins with a morning panel discussion, “Building an Economy for Prosperity and Equality,” moderated by Cecilia Rouse ’86, PhD ’92, dean, Lawrence and Shirley Katzman and Lewis and Anna Ernst Professor in the Economics of Education, and professor of economics and public affairs at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University. She will lead four experts in a wide-ranging discussion about factors that invigorate and impede a thriving economy. 

Panelists include:

  • David Autor AM '94, PhD ’99, professor, Department of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Douglas W. Elmendorf AM '85, PhD ’89, dean and Don K. Price Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School
  • Claudia Goldin RI ’06, Henry Lee Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, Harvard University; director, Development of the American Economy Program, National Bureau of Economic Research
  • Louise Sheiner ’82, AM '89, PhD ’93, senior fellow in economic studies and policy director for the Hutchins Center on Fiscal and Monetary Policy, the Brookings Institution 

Learn more about the Radcliffe Day 2016 schedule, which will be webcast live on May 27:

About the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study

The Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University is dedicated to generating and sharing transformative ideas across the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Learn more about the people and programs of the Radcliffe Institute at

Search Year: