Skip to main content

Harvard Radcliffe Institute has shifted to primarily virtual operations and continues to monitor the coronavirus pandemic. See Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information and Updates.

Fellowship / Fellows

Allegra Goodman

  • 2006–2007
  • Fiction & Poetry
  • Independent Writer
Headshot of Allegra Goodman
Photo by Tony Rinaldo

This information is accurate as of the fellowship year indicated for each fellow.

Allegra Goodman is the author of three novels: Intuition (Dial Press, 2006), Paradise Park (Dial Press, 2001), and Kaaterskill Falls (Dial Press, 1998), which was a finalist for the National Book Award. She is also the author of two collections of short stories: The Family Markowitz (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1996) and Total Immersion (HarperCollins, 1989). Her work has appeared in the New Yorker, Commentary, the American Scholar, Newsweek,, and and has been broadcast on National Public Radio.

During her fellowship year, Goodman will research and begin writing a new novel, titled “The Cookbook Collector,” about a woman who collects cookbooks but does not cook. She will also work on a collection of short stories set during the dot-com bubble.

Goodman has a BA in English and philosophy from Harvard College and a PhD in English literature from Stanford University, where she wrote her dissertation on Samuel Johnson’s edition of Shakespeare and the Romantic reaction against it. She has been the recipient of an Andrew W. Mellon Graduate Fellowship in Humanistic Studies, a Whiting Writers’ Award, and a 1996 Salon Book Award for fiction.

Our 2020–2021 Fellows

01 / 09

News & Ideas

Back to top