Zaid Jabri | Chamber Music

Wednesday, May 03, 2017

Zaid Jabri | Chamber Music || Radcliffe Institute

As part of the 2016–2017 Fellows’ Presentation Series at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Zaid Jabri RI ’17 presents "Chamber Music," a collection of compositions from 2008 to 2016.

(0:12) Glyptos 2 (2010) for flute, clarinet, trumpet, violin, piano, double bass, and tape
Commissioned by Brunel University London and premiered during the inaugural concert for the Institute for Contemporary Middle Eastern Music 

(8:40) Fluctus (2016)* for oud, bass clarinet, and string quartet
Commissioned by the Egyptian Contemporary Music Ensemble (ECME) and premiered during the Heritage and Modernity festival in Cairo, Egypt

(23:22) Solo for Cello (2012)
Commissioned by Athil Hamdan

(31:40) Variations on (r)Evolution (2016)* for mezzo soprano, violin, and piano
Text by Yvette Christianse; premiered at the Beethovenfest Bonn, in Germany 

(45:17) In Memoriam Solhi Al Wadi (2008) for clarinet, string quintet, and tape
Commissioned by the Syrian Trust for Development and premiered by the Damascus Festival Chamber Players at the Damascus Opera House in Damascus, Syria 

Jabri is the 2016–2017 Rieman and Baketel Fellow for Music at the Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

*USA Premiere