Events & exhibitions
event • Radcliffe Day

Radcliffe Day 2020

  • Friday, May 29, 2020
    12:30 PM ET
  • Online on Zoom
Radcliffe Day 2020

In celebration of Radcliffe Day 2020 and the 20th anniversary of the founding of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, please join us for a conversation between Tomiko Brown-Nagin, current Institute dean, and Drew Gilpin Faust, Radcliffe’s founding dean and president emerita of Harvard University.

In August 2000, the late Mary Maples Dunn, then acting dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, wrote a thoughtful letter to Neil L. Rudenstine, then president of Harvard University, thanking him for the “most unusual opportunity” of overseeing the transition of Radcliffe College into the newly formed Institute. Some 20 years later, Drew Gilpin Faust, Dunn’s successor, will join Dean Tomiko Brown-Nagin to mark this important milestone in Radcliffe’s history by reflecting on the Institute’s founding and growth, its current strategic direction, and the critical role of an engaged, interdisciplinary institute for advanced study in our University and our world.

Program runs 12:30–1:30 pm ET.



Tomiko Brown-Nagin

Tomiko Brown-Nagin, a legal historian and an expert in constitutional law and education law and policy, is the dean of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, the Daniel P.S. Paul Professor of Constitutional Law at Harvard Law School, and a professor of history in the Harvard Faculty of Arts and Sciences. Her book Courage to Dissent: Atlanta and the Long History of the Civil Rights Movement (Oxford University Press, 2011) won six awards, including the Bancroft Prize. Brown-Nagin has previously served as faculty director of Harvard Law School’s Charles Hamilton Houston Institute and as codirector of Harvard Law School’s law and history program.

Drew Gilpin Faust

Drew Gilpin Faust is president emerita of Harvard—the first woman to hold that role—and the Arthur Kingsley Porter University Professor. She was the founding dean of the Radcliffe Institute. Before coming to Harvard, she was the Annenberg Professor of History at the University of Pennsylvania. She is the author of six books, including This Republic of Suffering: Death and the American Civil War (Knopf, 2008), named one of “The 10 Best Books of 2008” by the New York Times.

More Events & Exhibitions

01 / 08