News & Ideas


Radcliffe Magazine | Fall 2020

Edo Berger was the 2019–2020 Mildred Londa Weisman Fellow at Radcliffe, where he currently serves as a science advisor. He is a professor of astronomy in the Harvard Faculty of Arts and Sciences. His recent research has explored how gold and other rare elements are created in the universe.

Crystal Z Campbell is the 2020–2021 Radcliffe-Film Study Center Fellow/David and Roberta Logie Fellow at Radcliffe. A multidisciplinary artist, experimental filmmaker, and writer, she is currently producing an experimental film, titled SLICK, that excavates public secrets through the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre and its longstanding effects on the City of Tulsa.

Lizabeth Cohen was a 2001–2002 fellow and the dean of the Radcliffe Institute from 2011 to 2018. She is a Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor, the Howard Mumford Jones Professor of American Studies in the Harvard Department of History, and the author, most recently, of Saving America’s Cities: Ed Logue and the Struggle to Renew Urban America in the Suburban Age (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2019).

Henri Cole was a 2014–2015 fellow at the Radcliffe Institute. He is the Josephine Olp Weeks Professor of Literature at Claremont McKenna College and the author of 10 collections of poetry, most recently Blizzard (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2020), and a memoir, Orphic Paris (New York Review Books, 2018).

Junot Díaz was a 2003–2004 fellow at the Institute. He is the author of the Pulitzer Prize–winning novel The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Riverhead Books, 2007) and, most recently, of the picture book Islandborn (Dial Books, 2018).

Ivelisse Estrada is the associate editor of Radcliffe Magazine and a senior writer at the Radcliffe Institute, where she also leads on social media.

Linda Greenhouse is a 1968 graduate of Radcliffe College and a senior research scholar in law at Yale Law School. A Pulitzer Prize winner, she reported on the Supreme Court for the New York Times from 1978 to 2008 and currently writes a twice-monthly opinion column on the court as a New York Times contributing columnist.

Lauren Groff was a 2018–2019 Suzanne Young Murray Fellow at the Radcliffe Institute. She is a writer of critically acclaimed literary fiction, and her most recent book is Florida (Riverhead Books, 2018). 

Jonathan Guyer was a 2017–2018 fellow at Radcliffe. The managing editor of the American Prospect, he spent five years researching Arabic comics in Egypt and has written for the New York Times, the New Yorker, and the Paris Review.

Gish Jen, a 1977 graduate of Radcliffe College, was a 2001–2002 Institute fellow and a 1986–1987 Bunting fellow. She is an award-winning writer and the author of eight books of fiction and nonfiction, most recently the novel The Resisters (Knopf, 2020).

Iman Lavery is an intern in the Radcliffe Institute Office of Communications. A concentrator in English with a secondary in film and visual studies, she is a member of the Harvard College Class of 2022.

Will Mackin is the 2020–2021 Perrin Moorhead Grayson and Bruns Grayson Fellow at Radcliffe. A 23-year veteran of the US Navy and a fiction writer, he is currently working on a follow-up to Bring Out the Dog (Random House, 2018), which won the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Short Story Collection.

Nina McConigley was the 2019–2020 Walter Jackson Bate Fellow at the Institute. An assistant professor at the University of Wyoming, she is a fiction writer whose story collection Cowboys and East Indians (FiveChapters Books, 2014) won the PEN Open Book Award and a High Plains Book Award.

Diane McWhorter was the 2011–2012 Mildred Londa Weisman Fellow at Radcliffe. She is the author of the Pulitzer Prize–winning Carry Me Home: Birmingham, Alabama—The Climactic Battle of the Civil Rights Revolution (Simon & Schuster, 2001).

Suzanne Mettler, who was the 2019–2020 Katherine Hampson Bessell Fellow at Radcliffe, is the John L. Senior Professor of American Institutions in the Department of Government at Cornell University. She is the author of six books, most recently Four Threats: The Recurring Crises of American Democracy (St. Martin’s Press, 2020) with Robert C. Lieberman.

Ben Miller was a 2014–2015 fellow at Radcliffe. This fall, his work will appear in Best American Experimental Writing 2020 (Wesleyan University Press, 2020) and in Black Mountain College Studies, Fiction International, and Raritan.

Kavita Kacholia Mishra earned her AB from Harvard College in 1998 and her MPH from the Harvard School of Public Health in 2003. She is a member of the Radcliffe Institute Dean’s Advisory Council and an internationally renowned expert in radiation oncology.

Miriam Pawel is the 2020–2021 Frieda L. Miller Fellow at Radcliffe and a member of the Harvard-Radcliffe Class of 1979. An author, journalist, and independent historian, she is also a contributing opinion writer for the New York Times, and her most recent book is The Browns of California: The Family Dynasty that Transformed a State and Shaped a Nation (Bloomsbury, 2018).

Laurence Ralph was the 2015–2016 Joy Foundation Fellow at Radcliffe. A professor of anthropology and the director of the Center on Transnational Policing at Princeton University, he is the author of two books, most recently The Torture Letters: Reckoning with Police Violence (University of Chicago Press, 2020).

Ruben Reyes Jr., a member of the Harvard Class of 2019 who earned his degree in ethnic studies, was a Radcliffe Research Partner in 2018–2019. He is now an MFA candidate at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.

Evie Shockley was a 2018–2019 fellow at the Radcliffe Institute. She is a professor of English at Rutgers University–New Brunswick and a poet whose most recent collection, semiautomatic (Wesleyan University Press, 2017), was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in poetry and a winner of the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award in poetry.

News & Ideas